2016 Winners

NCEE and EEUK are delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 National Enterprise Educator Awards, celebrating the UK’s top enterprise and entrepreneurship educators. The award ceremony was held against the stunning backdrop of Liverpool Cathedral during the Gala Dinner for the 11th International Entrepreneurship Educators Conference, hosted by Liverpool John Moores University.

FE Team Enterprise

Inspiring Enterprise Learning from West Lothian College

Beth Brownlee, Jenna Redpath, Sharon Meek, Barbara-Ann Greig


The first award of the evening, the FE Team Enterprise award, sponsored by Cobweb, was presented to Jenna Redpath by Marianne Whitfield of Cobweb (pictured above). Students and staff in the West Lothian College Business and Creative centre generated a range of enterprising approaches which engaged both staff and students with learning and teaching in a way which reinvigorated the curriculum leading to increased retention and achievement.

Highly commended in the FE Team Enterprise category were Test Town Bridgend Youth Enterprise Market from Bridgend College and Creative Flare Learning Company from Cornwall College.

HE Team Enterprise

BSEEN project team 2012-2015, Universities of Aston, Birmingham and Birmingham City

Carolyn Keenan, Richard Leighton, Paul Adams, Sandra Benbow, Laura Guest


The second winner was the BSEEN project team 2012-2015 for their entry in the HE Team Enterprise category, sponsored by the Higher Education Academy. Carolyn Keenan, Sandra Benbow and Alison Sharp are pictured with Stuart Norton of the HEA. BSEEN is a successful collaborative student and graduate start-up support project, part-funded by ERDF, with a track record of supporting over 200 new businesses and 70 new jobs created in the West Midlands over the last three years. Importantly it also raised the awareness of enterprise amongst the student community and helped to develop enterprising mind-sets which has increased the employability and aspiration of students and graduates. BSEEN has recently been awarded funding for three years with new university partners.

Highly commended in this category were Inspiring Futures: Enhancing Student Entrepreneurialism through Work Based Learning from Plymouth University and Hatching Entrepreneurs from the University of Ulster.

Enterprise Catalyst

Paul Greetham, University of Huddersfield


The Enterprise Catalyst category, sponsored by SimVenture Evolution, was won by Paul Greetham of the University of Huddersfield who is poctured with Peter Harrington of SimVenture. Paul is a highly-valued colleague in the University of Huddersfield Enterprise Team. He has helped hundreds of students and graduates explore business start-up. Creative, thoughtful, and constructively critical, Paul strives to improve the Enterprise Team offer, always putting the needs of clients first. He has been instrumental in the development of the Enterprise Team, but also of regional initiatives such as Yorkshire universities’ collaboration with the Institute of Chartered Accountants for England and Wales’ coaching for investor readiness scheme.

Highly commended in this category were Lucy Hatt of Northumbria University and Professor Lester Lloyd-Reason of Anglia Ruskin University.